Presidential Inaugural Committee Sends Peter Obi Invite To Tinubu’s Inauguration

On Tuesday, the Asedeyhappenbog sighted the invitation letter for Obi of the Labour Party, who came third in the presidential election of February 25 behind Tinubu of APC and Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party.

In the last election, the Independent National Electoral Commission said, Tinubu got 8,794,726 votes, Atiku polled 6,984,520, and Obi garnered 6,101,533 votes.

As May 29, 2023, draws near when Bola Tinubu of the All Progressives Congress will be sworn in as President, the Presidential Inauguration Committee has invited Peter Obi to the event.

In the invite, it is observed that Obi is allotted Seat No. 101 at the May 29 event as stated on the invite.

The invite reads, “The Presidential Inaugural Committee is honoured to announce the inauguration of Bola A, Tinubu as President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and Kashim Shettima M. as Vice President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria on Monday, the twenty-ninth May two thousand and twenty-three,”

Meanwhile, in March, Obi and the Labour Party filed a petition at the presidential election tribunal challenging Tinubu’s victory in the poll.

In the petition, Obi asks the tribunal to direct INEC to present him with a certificate of return as the duly elected President of Nigeria instead of Tinubu — listing INEC, Tinubu, Shettim, and APC as respondents.

Livy Ozoukwu, counsel to Obi told the tribunal that Tinubu was not qualified to contest the election and “was not duly elected by the majority of the lawful votes cast at the time of the election”.

Tinubu, in a letter to the Secretary to the Government of Federation, Mr. Boss Mustapha, has nominated a former Senator representing Borno North and current National Deputy Chairman (North) of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), Mr. Abubakar Kyari as the Coordinator and Director of Finance and Budget of the Committee.

Hon. Stella Okotete,  the Executive Director (Business Development) at the Nigeria Export-Import (NEXIM) Bank, will serve as the head of Secretariat, Planning, and Monitoring while Mr. Makinde Araoye, will serve as the Director of the venue, parades and swearing-in for the week-long event.

Mr. Bayo Onanuga,  the APC Presidential Campaign Spokesperson,  will serve as Head of Media and Publicity, while the Cross Rivers State Commissioner for Health and current National Women Leader of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), Dr. Betta Edu will coordinate the medical team for the inauguration committee.

Col. Abdulazeez Yar’Adua,  a retired military chief, will serve as the head of the Security and Ceremonial Parade for the inauguration with Barr. Zainab Buba Marwa, the wife of former Lagos State Military Governor and current Director General of Nigeria’s Drug Law Enforcement Agency, NDLEA, Gen. Buba Marwa coordinating the pre-inauguration dinner and gala night for the committee.

Other members of the committee include Samira Saddik (Children’s Day), Bishop Adegbite (Church Service), Imam Faud (Jumat Service).Abuh Andrew Abuh (Accommodation), Dr. Danladi Bako (Inaugural Lecture), Hajiya Hadiza Mohammed Kabir (Transportation and Logistics) and Donald Wokoma (Protocol and Invitation).


Comment on this post

Place Your Advert Here