The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday declared Governor Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq of Kwara state as the winner of the 2023 governorship election in the state.

The governor won the poll to serve a second term of another four years in office under the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Abdulrazaq, who won in all 16 local government areas of the state in the election results declared by the INEC Returning Officer for the polls, Professor Isaac Itodo, the Vice Chancellor, the University of Agriculture Markurdi, Benue state.

Abdulrazaq polled 273,424 votes to beat his closest rival, Alhaji Yaman Abdullahi of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who scored 155,490 votes in the election.

The INEC had on Saturday night started an announcement of the 2023 governorship election results with only that of three local government areas with the governor clearing the three local government areas of Ekiti, Isin, and Offa local government areas.

At the resumed announcement of the election results on Sunday morning, which lasted till evening the APC governor also won in additional 13 local government areas.


Comment on this post

Place Your Advert Here