Tribunal nullifies election of Bayelsa PDP Representatives




Fred Agbedi of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) was declared the winner of the Sagbama/Ekeremor federal constituency in Bayelsa State by the National and State Houses of Assembly Election Tribunal, which met in Yenagoa on Friday.

The tribunal ordered the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to conduct new elections for the 20,000 constituents who were wrongfully shut out of the poll and to promptly revoke the certificate that had been awarded to Agbedi.

Due to violent incidents that tainted the election, Michael Olomu of the All Progressives Congress (APC) addressed the tribunal and requested to be proclaimed the winner.

He said that the suspected orchestration of the violence by his rival had a substantial impact on the election's fairness.

Olomu claimed that although the election was not held in all five wards, the results were tallied. Wards 3 and 4 in Ofoni, Sagbama, Ward 5 in Ebedebiri, Ward 11 in Ofoni, Sagbama, and Ward 12 in Ekeremo were also affected.

In response to the ruling, Agbedi declared himself ready to run in the special election.








Comment on this post

Place Your Advert Here